Love at first bite

With school all wrapped up, I have a lot more free time during the afternoon, so I have started to get back into my workout groove.

I found that when I was really busy with school, it was much easier to skip the gym and opt for a salad, thinking this was still a healthy idea.  However, it was illogical for me to believe that just because I was eating fairly healthy throughout the week that I would be feeling better about my body. Instead, by choosing the easier (and lazier) choice, it has left me frantically trying to get my butt in gear.

Diet is 80-90% of the battle when it comes to getting, and keeping the body you want. You can’t out train a bad diet, even if you try to make better choices, food is always full of hidden calories, fat, and sugar.

With that being said, working out and eating healthy go hand in hand, and when completed together, you will be feeling much better and confident in your own skin.

I find that when I am getting back into the gym, it is always a bit harder to stay focused and committed.  But, when I ensure that I am eating healthier, it is easier to stay focused and avoid the sweets and junk food.

So in order to ensure that I stay on track, I always try to find new breakfast ideas to ensure that I feel not only satisfied and recharged, but with enough energy to get me through the day.

And believe me, my typical breakfast would usually included a bagel and a coffee.. or no breakfast at all.. (BAD, I KNOW) so finding new and fun things to make that I actually enjoy has been a lot of fun.

So without further adieu, here is my newest breakfast obsession: Chia Yogurt Power Bowl

image1

INGREDIENTS
  • -1 medium size container of Greek Yogurt 0% — (I only used 1/2 cup of yogurt)
  • -1 tablespoon Agave Nectar
  • -1/4 cup chia seeds
  • -1/4 cup hemp hearts
  • -Toppings: blackberries and strawberries
INSTRUCTIONS
  1. In a large tupperware, mix together Greek yogurt, hemp hearts, and chia seeds. Let sit in the refrigerator for about 30 minutes, so that the chia seeds expand. Then, create you parfait by adding whatever toppings you desire! I drizzled my agave nectar over the top of everything for added sweetness.  Store in an air-tight container in your refrigerator.

image3

Adding Chia seeds to your food is so beneficial for your body.  They are among the healthiest foods on the planet, and are loaded with nutrients that can have important benefits for your body and brain. They are loaded with antioxidants,  are high in protein, and are very high in Omega-3 fatty acids.  And hemp hearts are equally as good for you! They are one of the most concentrated and balanced sources of protein, essential fats and vitamins in nature.
This breakfast idea was so easy to make and so delicious! I made into smaller portions, and poured it out into little tupperware containers, so that I have it for throughout the week! Love meal prep.
One response to “Love at first bite

Leave a Reply

